28
Sep
08

HOW GOOD IS THIS!!!??? – NUMBER 7


THE REMIXES – PART 1 – BLOC PARTY



If you don’t like BLOC PARTY then your going to hate this post.

However if you don’t enjoy Bloc Party you need to check yourself in for surgery, because your ears are clearly surplus to requirements. I’m not sure your bad taste can be surgically removed, but with the medical advances and modern science I’m sure we could try…

So here we are. Bloc Party are very well known to all of us and this is correct and very much as it should be. Nothing new to report. Nothing new I can cover that hasn’t been waxed to within an inch of it’s life. Right?

Pretty much. It’s just that I love Bloc Party like nothing else. They are my smack and I’m their junkie. No intervention’s going to get in my way here.

So what this post is about is a dedication to a well rehearsed passion. I want to list the Bloc Party remixes I enjoy. Yes, they’re a fine, fine band in their own right, with their upbeat, choppy dance-Indie brilliance, but never before in history has a band been so ripe for a remix. And haven’t the button-twiddlers been busy! So many awesome remixes!

Normally I demand a remix has to at least add something to an existing tune, or bring something fresh to the table. Bloc Party clearly write tunes well enough and they clearly have one of the best drummers of all time in Matt tong, but when remixed they seem to be pushed into the electro dance genre like it was as natural as conceiving a child.

I list the results of these remixes below for you. Believe me there are hundreds out there, so I’ve simply included those I see fit for purpose. Enjoy, pinch, comment, what ever you like. At least you know where I stand on the legends that are BLOC PARTY….

HUNTING FOR WITCHES(Villains Electro-Banger Remix)
THIS MODERN LOVE (Dave P & Adam Sparkles Making Time Remix)
THE PRAYER (Does It Offend You Yeah? Remix)
SIGNS(Plimsouls Edit)
I STILL REMEMBER(SebatiAn Remix)
LIKE EATING GLASS (Black Strobe Remix)
TWO MORE YEARS(MSTRKRFT Remix)
MERCURY (Herve Is In Disarray Remix)
MERCURY(CSS Remix)

Phew, I feel like I’ve got that off of my chest now. Hey, if we can’t indulge in our own blogs every now and again then what’s the point eh?? Let me know which remix is your favourite?

Bloc Party have a new album due out real soon. Cue remixers at the ready…
Mike

Leave a Reply

The Recommender's Flickr Photos

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

BUTTONS

HYPEMACHINE

The Hype Machine

BLOGLOVIN'

Follow THE RECOMMENDER

VICE BLOG NETWORK

Part of Vice blogging network

SHUFFLER.FM

32px

TECHNORATI

Add to Technorati Favorites

ELBO.WS

mp3 blogs

LOADED WEB

Loaded Web - Global Blog & Business Directory

PREVIOUS INTERVIEWS

CLOCK OPERA

THE GOLDEN FILTER

MIRRORS

WE HAVE BAND

MARINA & THE DIAMONDS

LITTLE BOOTS

CLUB SMITH (Previously known as THE HAIR)

CONTRIBUTORS

Mike Bradford (MB) - Creator and Contributor (UK)

Olivia Gable (OG) - Contributor (Austin, USA)

Matt Allfrey (MA) - Contributor (UK)

Natasha Ryan - Photographer (New York, USA)


